time for student papers, part 1

This little lecture reminded me of the old Goofus and Gallant cartoons I used to find in my Highlights for Children magazines.  Except on some days my class seems to be mostly Goofuses, not so many Gallants.  Come to think of it, some days I’m more Prof. Goofus than Prof. Gallant, so maybe it all evens out?  I do like to think we deserve each other,  no matter what shape we’re in that day.

DM

[G and G property of Highlights, h/t Starrlet’s stuff; “How to Write a Paper,” h/t Buzzfeed]

gg-final-11-30-02

5 responses to “time for student papers, part 1

  1. Hah! I used to have kind of a crush on Goofus when I was four. Gallant is so passive aggressive.

  2. Dave Mazella

    Was it the unruly shock of hair that you first noticed about Goofus? Or the brooding air of the Romantic hero, preparing to take the last slice of pie, without asking?

  3. There was definitely something Byronic in Goofus’s blatant disregard for chores and bedtime.

  4. I’ve never seen Goofus and Gallant before, but they remind me somehow of Hogarth’s idle and industrious Prentices…

  5. Dave Mazella

    Yeah, this seems right to me, and probably accounts for why I made the connection between the didacticism and the satire.

    I think that heavily didactic characterization, which G&G shares with the prentices, often splits characters into morally polarized doubles, one of may be highly satiric. (Mrs Jewkes/Mrs Jervis in Pamela)

    It’s interesting how satire like this “How to Write” leaves out the obedient student’s writing process altogether, and focuses instead on the miserable, self-deluding “Michael Harper” floundering about.