tools, etc. for electronic research in the humanities

After a few queries and some noodling around on my own, here’s a sampling of some of the stuff I’ve been using (or consulting) for research, teaching, etc.

Useful sites for reflection, discussion, reference:

Toolcenter wiki from the Center for History and New Media.

(description from the homepage: “This is a Wiki that we’ve put together to build a collaborative resource to connect builders and users of digital tools. Originally built to support the online history community, the Tools Center has expanded and welcomes entries on tools for digital scholarship, archiving and preservation writ large”)

Digital Research in the Humanities

(an academic blog run by Lisa Spiro, Director of the Digital Media Center at Rice’s Fondren Library)

Digital Research Tools (DiRT) wiki

(h/t to Sharon Howard of EMN)

(a wiki edited in part by Lisa Spiro [see above], which “collects information about tools and resources that can help scholars (particularly in the humanities and social sciences) conduct research more efficiently or creatively . . . . We provide a directory of tools organized by research activity, as well as reviews of select tools in which we not only describe the tool’s features, but also explore how it might be employed most effectively by researchers”)

What I’m using this summer:

Zotero

(after looking around (on the blogs, etc. mentioned above) and examining some other options for note-taking and reference management, I decided that this would be the best option for both research and teaching in the foreseeable future.  I also liked the fact that it was free and open-source, esp. when assigning it to students.  Less happy about the problem of backing up onto multiple machines)

DM

2 responses to “tools, etc. for electronic research in the humanities

  1. Dave,

    I’ve been using Zotero, too, since it came up on the C18 listserv. I love it. I’ve solved the problem of multiple machines by saving the data file to my iDisk and setting it (on both machines) to retrieve the data from there — you could do the same with a network server or a jump drive, I imagine.

  2. Dave Mazella

    Thanks, Gena. I’ve got to figure out how to do that save routine on my key drive. But it really is an amazing resource.

    Now can someone tell me how to highlight my pdfs and save those in Zotero?

    Best wishes,

    DM