Where did you get that Grandison?

On Tuesday, I was having a chat with David Richter about his upcoming ASECS paper “Postmodern Pastiche: Jane Austen in New York and A Cock and Bull Story,” about films based so loosely on eighteenth-century texts that one would need to have fairly intimate familiarity with those texts to understand what they’re doing in the film. Jane Austen in New York is especially difficult for viewers, as it depicts a theater company putting on a rarely-seen theatrical adaption by Austen of Richardson’s Sir Charles Grandison, a book so out of print that even bad, stained, and incomplete copies of it go for $75 to $2000 online.

This reminded me that Grandison is on my orals list, but I have never actually held a copy of it in my hands.

The only remedy for this problem seems to be saving 50-page PDFs of it from ECCO, which is how I’ve gotten to read many of Johnson’s more rarely reproduced texts. However, I am not above begging.

Does anyone here know of anyone who would part with a Grandison? I am willing to pay something reasonable for it. Email me at carrieshanafelt at gmail if you have a lead for me.

Also, if you get the chance to see Richter’s presentation (Session X), I’d love to hear how it goes!

13 responses to “Where did you get that Grandison?

  1. Jen Golightly

    It’s been a while since I’ve posted–I’ve been dissertating–so howdy to everyone again. There was a reprint of Sir Charles Grandison edited by Jocelyn Harris that came out a few years back. I found the original notice of the reprint on the C 18-L archives and will paste it here. The notice does say the reprint was for a limited time, so perhaps these reprints are now gone? I’ll have to check amazon and bn.com. Here’s the C 18-L message:

    Good news! The 1972 edition of Samuel Richardson’s *Sir Charles Grandison*
    >is now back in print, thanks to the generosity of Oxford University Press
    >in allowing me to reproduce it under licence for a limited time. The novel
    >is now available in the original three parts, sewn, in soft covers, at
    >$US45.00 the set plus postage. Please contact
    >[log in to unmask]
    >And thank you everyone who signed the petition asking for *Grandison* to be
    >reprinted. You made it happen!
    >Jocelyn Harris.
    >

  2. Jen Golightly

    OK, I did find some of the Jocelyn Harris reprints–now used–for somewhere around $75 on bn.com and alibris, but I guess that really was a limited time.

  3. George Justice

    Allen Grove (Alfred U.) is going to be publishing a new edition of SCG. But I also own the Jocelyn Harris edition as reprinted in New Zealand, and I think you might still be able to get it there.

  4. I’ll add (in shameless self-promotion) that there’s been a clamor this weekend (following Tita Chico’s fabulous paper Thursday morning) for a Grandison panel, which I’m proposing for Portland as part of the campaign for a Richardson Society.

  5. Thank you to Jen and George. I will look up to see when the new edition is coming out.

    Emily, this sounds great! Please keep us updated on the foundation of a Richardson Society and about the panel. If you’d like to join on here, please send me an email and I’ll add you as a contributor.

  6. Kamille Stone Stanton

    Great idea, Emily. The creation of Richardson Society would certainly fill a need. How many discussions did we attend at ASECS this weekend that found precedence for a particular eighteenth century motif in a Richardson novel or that used Richardson as a foundation of evidence for a particular cultural claim? Plenty!

    Kamille Stone Stanton

  7. George Justice

    One other thing to point out, Dave. SCG is available through LION (Chadwyck-Healey’s Literature Online database), which many universities subscribe to. It would be unedited, but available to download (and reformat as you like) at a single gulp.

    George

  8. It’s Carrie writing, not Dave! I’d hate to imply that Dave hasn’t read SCG.

    Thank you, George! I’ll see if we’re LION subscribers.

  9. Dave (the real Dave)

    Hey! I’m back! And it’s great to find you here, George, though Carrie is indeed the person who wants to buy SCG, for some reason.

    And I’d think you could pick it up pretty quickly on ebay or ABE.

    http://www.abebooks.com/.

    I just searched there, and found one copy of the Harris edition, though for about 100 something bucks.

    DM

  10. Hi everyone,

    Last summer, some of my colleagues at Maryland ordered the 1972 Oxford edition (ed. Jocelyn Harris), which has been reproduced under license from Oxford and may be ordered from Otago University Print. I believe that the person to contact is Steve Williams (steve.williams@stonebow.otago.ac.nz). I recall that it took a few weeks, but that they did, in fact, get the reprints and that they cost, in total?, about $60 US.

    And thank you, Emily, for your enthusaism about my paper! I’d like to be in the loop re: a Richardson group, future panels, etc., too.

    Thanks,

    Tita

  11. I would be wary of the offerings on abe. The 1972 Oxford edition (which we have because Ellen did her dissertation on Richardson; her marginalia overflow the margins) is in three volumes, xliii+482 pp, 681 pp, 485 pp. The reprints on abe look partial. Indubitably complete SCGs on abe are all Shakespeare Head editions and start at $300. If Otago is still selling Jocelyn Harris’s edition, it’s the one to get. It’s much better than the Shakespeare Head edition, and apparently much cheaper, too.

    On David Richter’s presentation: the session was marred by technical difficulties and I left after David’s piece. David had ripped clips from the movies and was trying to show them from his laptop, but there was apparently no way to get sound from his laptop into the room’s speakers. So he was forced to ask everyone to come up close and turn his laptop towards the audience so we could hear the clips.

    I thought David was better on the Shandy transposition than on the Austen SCG parody. Part of the problem is that Jhabvala’s screenplay for JA in Manhattan is somewhat dull, and it’s very difficult to be sparkling on a dull subject. Whereas with the Shandy, he had a carefully structured screenplay and scenes he could show us (he showed us the circumcision scene, for example) that he could say useful things about.

  12. Lisa Higgins

    I was one of the UMD people who successfully ordered Grandison from New Zealand. I believe the new person to contact is Jenny Calder at jenny.calder@stonebow.otago.ac.nz

    And when all was said and done w/ shipping, etc. the three vols were closer to $75.

  13. Pingback: CFPs: ASECS 2008 « The Long Eighteenth