Some 18th-century reading to pass the time

The latest edition of the Science blogging carnival, the Tangled Bank, has an 18th-century history of science theme.

Another interesting source project using WordPress: Defoe’s Review.

Jonathan Edelstein has uncovered the use of a Koran for swearing oaths in The Old Bailey.

And nearly forgot this: When a killer cloud hit Britain.

Update: I mentioned the Linnaeus 300th anniversary in another post; well, now there’s a brand new celebratory website (from Sweden but in English). Apart from some history, it has answers to questions such as: ‘how do flowers know when it’s time to bloom’ and ‘what’s so unique about humans’. There’s a large dollop of Swedish patriotism in there, but it’s absolutely delightful.

2 responses to “Some 18th-century reading to pass the time

  1. This is the first I’ve heard about this hurricane cloud. Did it make any impact on British literature in the 1780s? I can’t recall it being mentioned in a single poem or novel. What have I missed, if anything? And if nothing, is the absence of commentary about this natural disaster in itself noteworthy?

  2. Allen, I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it before either. I’m not familiar enough with 1780s literature to have any idea – but I’d be interested to hear from anyone else who has!

    (A note to morons, especially someone calling himself ‘Michael Ben Rutalovskioff’: I’m not speaking for anyone else here, but on my own posts I have a pretty low tolerance threshold for arseholes. If you post comments containing nothing but gratuitous insults, you get deleted and banned.)