Janet Todd’s _At the Sign of Angellica_

Dear All,

I thought by way of saying hello for the first time I’d say that on my small women writers list we are reading Janet Todd’s _At the Sign of Angellica_ and how much it holds up even years later. Today I wrote a summary of the Introduction and Chapter 1 (probably not appropriate here):  it impressed me with all its insights, informative and prescience.  Much said to be new recently can be found in Todd’s book, such as an explanation for why in the 17th century most of the more radical women writers were Tories.

I did write a blog on Women in the Long Eighteenth Century at the MLA. It’s a summary and report on four sessions I attended.  My blog is linked on the side and if you click there and go there, you should find it under the above title. (I’ve written another since, on film adaptations of Austen’s novels.)

It’s good to be here among you.

Ellen

3 responses to “Janet Todd’s _At the Sign of Angellica_

  1. David Mazella

    Thanks, Ellen, and welcome aboard. I looked at the MLA stuff and am looking forward to hearing more from those people.

    If others have further thoughts about MLA or other conferences they’ve attended, please feel free to post. I know I find these kinds of field reports very useful, as are the online summaries and synopses of books like Todd’s. Hopefully, as we accumulate these kinds of materials and links, we can figure out ways to index them, so that they can be accessible to as many people as possible.

    Best wishes,

    DM

  2. Dave and all,

    The problem with the summaries I make for my Yahoo lists is they are aimed at a general audience. The membership of these lists includes all sorts of people, often teachers, but not always. So as in the summaries of Buchan’s _Crowded with Genius_ (which I put on C18-l), I feel I might just be repeating what people know
    on a level that will seem otiose.

    It is hard to know how to “pitch” one’s writing on different blogs.

    Ellen

  3. David Mazella

    Ellen,

    Don’t sweat it, just provide a link we can click on, and, if you wish, explain to folks the purpose and intended audience of what you’re putting out there. People will gravitate toward the material appropriate for their own interests and concerns. Even if the posting includes things we already know, it might still contain material useful for the courses we teach. Remember that we have an audience that ranges (I’m assuming) from beginning grad students to long-time teachers and scholars.

    Best,

    DM