Long 18th job in my hometown!

I am on my way to Kansas City today to (finally) visit my parents, after missing them for Christmas due to MLA. Chance then placed this job posting in my inbox:

Assistant Professor of British Literature, 1688-1830

The Department of English at the University of Missouri-Kansas City is seeking an assistant professor for a tenure-track position in the long eighteenth century. Broad historical and generic coverage required. Expertise in transatlantic, colonial, and/or postcolonial studies is particularly welcome. The successful applicant will teach two courses per semester for at least the first three years, including undergraduate literature surveys and graduate courses in her/his specialty. Applicants must have an active research agenda. Ph.D. required. Please send a letter of application, a CV, a recent writing sample, unofficial undergraduate and graduate transcripts, and three letters of recommendation to British Literature Search Committee, 106 Cockefair Hall, Department of English, University of Missouri – Kansas City, 5100 Rockhill Road, Kansas City MO 64110-2499.
Applications must be post-marked January 19, 2006.

I am, of course, not qualified for this job as I’m not holding my Ph.D. yet, but you may be! Kansas City is a great place to live, and UMKC is a very good environment, from what I understand.

Comments are closed.